Thales background banner

Blockchain-Sicherheitslösungen

Mit Thales Vertrauen in die Blockchain schaffen

In einer Permissioned Blockchain werden Transaktionen von Teilnehmern validiert und verarbeitet, die bereits im Ledger registriert sind. Doch auch ein solcher Fall birgt weiterhin Herausforderungen und es handelt sich letztendlich um eine Frage des Vertrauen. Wie kann man sicherstellen, dass die Blockchain sicher und vertrauenswürdig ist, um die erhebliche Bedrohung durch Cyberangriffe zu vermeiden? Die Antwort liegt darin, Sicherheit von Anfang an in die Blockchain-Technologie zu integrieren, und zwar durch starke Authentifizierung und die Sicherung der kryptographischen Schlüssel.

Die Hardware-Sicherheitsmodule (HSM) und Authentifizierungsdienste von Thales können Sie bei der Sicherung der Blockchain in den folgenden drei Bereichen unterstützen:

  • Bereitstellung starker Identitäten und Authentifizierung, um Zugang zur Blockchain zu erhalten;
  • Sichere Blockchain-Kerntechnologien; und
  • sichere Kommunikation im gesamten Blockchain-Netzwerk.

Blockchain-Lösungen von Thales

Obwohl die Blockchain auf ausgeklügelter Mathematik basiert und durch ihren dezentralen Ansatz grundsätzlich sicher ist, gibt es Möglichkeiten, auch diese Technologie zu täuschen, um sich Vorteile zu verschaffen. Sorgen Sie dafür, dass Sicherheit von Anfang an in Ihre Lösung integriert ist und speichern Sie Ihre Schlüssel stets in einer hardwarebasierten Lösung, um diese Fallstricke zu vermeiden und geschützt zu bleiben.

Luna Network HSMs sind so konzipiert, dass sie die privaten Schlüssel, die von den Blockchain-Mitgliedern zum Signieren aller Transaktionen verwendet werden, in einem dedizierten kryptographischen Prozessor gemäß FIPS 140-2 Level 3 speichern. Die kryptographischen Schlüssel werden während ihres gesamten Lebenszyklus gespeichert, sodass sichergestellt ist, dass sie nicht von unbefugten Geräten oder Personen eingesehen, geändert oder verwendet werden können. In Software gespeicherte kryptographische Schlüssel können gestohlen werden, wodurch das gesamte Blockchain Ledger gefährdet wird.

ProtectServer-HSMs sind genau wie die Luna-Network-HSMs so konzipiert, dass sie kryptographische Schlüssel vor einer Kompromittierung schützen und gleichzeitig Verschlüsselungs-, Signier- und Authentifizierungsdienste anbieten.

Sowohl Luna- als auch ProtectServer-HSMs erweitern die native HSM-Funktionalität, indem sie die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von benutzerdefiniertem Code innerhalb der sicheren Grenzen des nach FIPS 140-2 Level 3 validierten HSM von Thales als Teil der Firmware ermöglichen. Mit den Functionality Modules (FM) können Sie die Funktionalität Ihres HSM von Thales an die Anforderungen Ihres Unternehmens anpassen, einschließlich der Implementierung von Quantum-Algorithmen.

Luna-Cloud-HSM-Dienste. Zusätzlich zu unseren On-Premise-HSM-Lösungen bietet Thales mit Data Protection On Demand (DPoD) auch eine Luna-Cloud-HSM-Lösung an. DPoD verfügt über ein Abrechnungsmodell für Dienste, bei dem keine Hardware bereitgestellt und gewartet werden muss.

Der SafeNet Authentication Service (SAS) senkt Ihre Gesamtbetriebskosten erheblich und passt die Authentifizierung mit diesem vollautomatischen, hochsicheren Authentifizierungsdienst mit flexiblen Token-Optionen an Ihre individuellen Anforderungen an.

Über Blockchains

  • Eine Blockchain ist eine verteilte Datenbank, die eine sichere und zugleich transparente Möglichkeit bietet, jede Art von Transaktion durchzuführen, aufzuzeichnen und zu überprüfen.
  • Die Transaktionen müssen nicht zwangsläufig finanzieller Art sein. Es kann sich einfach um eine beliebige Art von Übertragung zwischen zwei Parteien handeln, die normalerweise eine dritte Partei erfordert, um die einzelnen Parteien zu authentifizieren und den Austausch zu vermitteln.
  • Die Blockchain macht eine zentrale Kontrolle überflüssig – stattdessen werden alle Transaktionen dezentralisiert und von der Blockchain-Datenbank selbst im verteilten Ledger überprüft.
  • Entgegen der allgemein verbreiteten Auffassung sichern Blockchain-Technologien nicht nur Finanztransaktionen, sondern können auch zur Rückverfolgung und Überprüfung jeder Art von digitalen Vermögenswerten sowie von Code oder Smart Contracts verwendet werden.

Die Vorteile einer Blockchain

  • Sie macht zentrale Kontrollen unnötig und verhindert so zusätzliche Kosten.
  • Das Vertrauen ist auf die Mitglieder der Blockchain verteilt.
  • Transaktionen werden mit einem öffentlichen/privaten Schlüsselpaar des Eigentümers digital signiert.
  • Einmal aufgezeichnete Daten in einem Block können nicht mehr rückwirkend geändert werden.
  • Offene, verteilte Ledger zeichnen Transaktionen zwischen zwei Parteien effizient sowie auf nachprüfbare und dauerhafte Weise auf.
  • Transaktionen müssen nicht nur Daten umfassen – es kann sich auch um Code oder Smart Contracts handeln

Top 3 der beliebtesten Blockchain-Anwendungsfälle

1. Kryptowährung

Risiko: Verschlüsselte digitale Währungen identifizieren das Zahlungsmittel, aber nicht seinen Besitzer. Wer den kryptographischen Schlüssel eines Coins besitzt, ist auch dessen Eigentümer. Das heißt, wenn ein Coin gestohlen wird, ist er weg – es besteht keine Möglichkeit, ihn zurückzubekommen.
Lösung: Die Speicherung Ihrer kryptographischen Schlüssel in einem FIPS-validierten Vertrauensanker ist entscheidend, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie Eigentümer Ihrer Schlüssel und letztendlich Ihrer Kryptowährung sind.

2. Smart Contracts

Risiko: Ein Smart Contract ist ein Computerprogramm, das eine Vereinbarung beschreibt und die Fähigkeit besitzt, sich selbst zu erfüllen und die Vertragsbedingungen durchzusetzen. Wenn die Sicherheitsfunktionen der Blockchain umgangen werden, kann ein Smart Contract geändert werden, wodurch das Vertrauen in die Blockchain verlorengeht und zwei Parteien nicht mehr in der Lage sind, ohne einen Mittelsmann Geschäfte zu tätigen.
Lösung: Führen Sie die Vertragsbedingungen mit anonymen Parteien sicher selbst aus, indem Sie eine starke Authentifizierung gewährleisten und Ihre kryptographischen Schlüssel in einem sicheren Hardware-Vertrauensanker speichern, um zu gewährleisten, dass die Parteien ordnungsgemäß identifiziert werden und niemand auf Ihre Daten zugreifen kann.

3. Internet der Dinge (Internet of Things, IoT)

Risiko: Die Beschränkungen, die durch ein traditionelles Vertrauensmodell auferlegt werden, das auf einer zentralen Autorität beruht, haben dazu beigetragen, dass das IoT anfällig ist – vor allem durch Mirai-Botnets, die es Hackern ermöglichten, problemlos die Kontrolle über tausende IoT-Geräte zu übernehmen. Wenn die IoT-Geräte nur mit Standardpasswörtern geschützt sind, können Hacker DDoS-Angriffe (Distributed Denial of Service) starten.
Lösung: Eine Blockchain trägt zur Sicherheit des IoT bei, indem sie ein verteiltes Vertrauensmodell bereitstellt. Die Blockchain beseitigt den Single-Point-of-Failure und ermöglicht es den Gerätenetzwerken, sich auf andere Weise zu schützen, indem sie beispielsweise den Knoten innerhalb eines bestimmten Netzwerks erlauben, alle Knoten, die sich ungewöhnlich verhalten, zu isolieren.

Die Blockchain-Partner von Thales

Thales arbeitet mit branchenführenden Akteuren aus den Bereichen Blockchain und Kryptowährung zusammen, um unternehmenstaugliche Lösungen zur Sicherung von Transaktionen anzubieten. Gemeinsam mit Partnern wie IBM, R3, Ethereum, Hyperledger, Ledger, BitGo, Symbiont und ConsenSys Quorum schützt Thales die Art und Weise, wie Branchen ihre Geschäfte abwickeln, bringt Effizienz und schafft Vertrauen. Thales unterstützt zudem mehrere Blockchain-Anwendungen wie Bitcoin, Hyperledger, Ethereum, Altcoins, Monero uvm.

Symbiont       Bitgo         Ledger       Quorum       Hyperledger

Blockchain

Wir können Ihnen helfen

Aufgrund aller Ungewissheit hinsichtlich der Blockchain, der Fülle an Standards und Protokollen sowie dem Wechsel von einer zentralisierten zu einer dezentralisierten Plattform ist der Einstieg in Blockchain eine Herausforderung, die äußerst einschüchternd wirken kann. Sorgen Sie dafür, dass Sie nicht eines der unzähligen Blockchain-Unternehmen werden, die bei der Implementierung der Blockchain-Technologie scheitern. Wenden Sie sich an Thales, um herauszufinden, wie auch Sie von Blockchain profitieren, und erfahren Sie, wie die HSM- und SAS-Lösungen von Thales Ihre Transaktionen sichern können.

In unserem Webinar „Blockchain für den Zahlungsverkehr: Erfahrungen aus der Praxis“ sprechen wir mit einigen der führenden Akteure im Bereich Blockchain-Zahlungen, um mehr über ihre bisherigen Erfahrungen und Erwartungen für die Zukunft der Blockchain-Zahlungen zu erfahren.

Sehen Sie sich das Webinar „Blockchain für den Zahlungsverkehr“ an

Sehen Sie sich das Webinar „IoT und Blockchain“ an

Vielleicht interessieren Sie sich auch für diese verwandten Ressourcen:

Bringing Trust to Blockchain with Thales HSM and SAS Solutions - Solution Brief

Bringing Trust to Blockchain with Thales HSM and SAS Solutions - Solution Brief

Blockchain is one of those industry buzzwords that you seem to hear everywhere, but what exactly is it and can you trust it? For the most part, enterprises are implementing blockchain without truly understanding its purpose, and as much as 90% of enterprise blockchain projects...

Securing Blockchain with Ledger and Thales ProtectServer HSMs - Solution Brief

Securing Blockchain with Ledger and Thales ProtectServer HSMs - Solution Brief

Secure cold storage of cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin or Ethereum, is a difficult and complex challenge. Traditional paper wallet-based solutions may be effective for the most basic use cases, but they present a substantial challenge for more complex environments as they do...

Securing Digital Currency with BitGo Multi-Signature and Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

Securing Digital Currency with BitGo Multi-Signature and Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

With the invention of Bitcoin and blockchains, cryptocurrencies and digital assets are rapidly coming to mainstream finance. Security of systems processing digital assets is paramount, and today’s financial institutions expect all the robustness and security of traditional...

FreeBit Co., Ltd.: Bringing blockchain technology and Thales Luna HSMs together to forge an innovative digital key infrastructure - Case Study

FreeBit Co., Ltd.: Bringing blockchain technology and Thales Luna HSMs together to forge an innovative digital key infrastructure - Case Study

The demand for digital keys as an integral part of a highly convenient network society is growing. At the forefront of the spread of digital keys are the automotive, housing and hotel industries. FreeBit Co., Ltd., (hereinafter referred to as “FreeBit”), a company engaged in...

TalkingTrust mit Thales und ConsenSys Quorum – Sicherheit für Ethereum-Blockchains – Video

TalkingTrust mit Thales und ConsenSys Quorum – Sicherheit für Ethereum-Blockchains – Video

Sehen Sie sich dieses kurze Video an, um mehr über Blockchain zu erfahren. Die gemeinsame Nutzung dezentraler Daten über die Blockchain und die Art und Weise, wie dadurch Vertrauen aufgebaut wird, ist entscheidend für die Entwicklung und Akzeptanz dieser Technologie. Da die Blockchains vermehrt genutzt werden, ist die Gewährleistung von Vertrauen und Integrität im Blockchain-Netzwerk von größter Bedeutung.

Banner Default Image

Blockchain Security Solutions

Bring Trust to Blockchain with Thales

Within a permissioned blockchain transactions are validated and processed by participants that are already recognized by the ledger. Even though this is the case, there is still a challenge and issue of trust. How can one ensure the blockchain is secure and trustworthy in order to avoid the substantial impact of a cyberattack? The answer is by building security into your blockchain technology from the start, through strong authentication and cryptography key vaulting.

Thales's Hardware Security Modules (HSMs) and Authentication services can help you secure blockchain in the following three areas:

  • Provide strong identities and authentication to gain access to the blockchain;
  • Secure core blockchain technologies; and
  • Secure communications across the blockchain network.

Thales Blockchain Solutions

As many as 90% of enterprise blockchain projects launched this year will meet a premature end within 18 to 24 months. Don’t get caught in the same situation. Ensure you build security into your solution from the ground up, always storing your keys in hardware.

Thales Luna Network HSMs are designed to store the private keys used by blockchain members to sign all transactions in a FIPS 140-2 Level 3 dedicated cryptographic processor. Keys are stored throughout their lifecycle, ensuring cryptographic keys cannot be used by unauthorized devices or people. Cryptographic keys kept in software are at risk of theft which compromises the entire blockchain ledger.

Thales ProtectServer HSMs, like the Thales Luna Network HSMs, are designed to protect cryptographic keys against compromise while providing encryption, signing, and authentication services. Execute your own blockchain Functionality Modules (FMs) within the secure confines of the FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certified hardware.

Thales Authentication Service (SAS) will substantially reduce your total cost of operation and tailor authentication to meet your unique needs with this fully automated, highly-secure authentication-as-a service with flexible token options.

About Blockchain

  • Blockchain is a distributed database that provides a secure, yet transparent way to make, record and verify any type of transaction.
  • Transaction does not have to be financial; it is simply any type of transfer between two parties that typically would require a third party to authenticate each party and broker the exchange.
  • Blockchain eliminates the need for centralized control – instead all transactions are decentralized, and verified by the blockchain database itself in the distributed ledger.
  • Contrary to the most popular use case, blockchain technologies don’t only secure financial transactions – in fact they can be used to track and verify any kind of digital asset, as well as code or smart contracts.

Benefits of Blockchain

  • Eliminate the need for centralized control and the additional costs
  • Trust is distributed between blockchain members
  • Transactions are digitally signed using an asset owner public/private key pair
  • Once recorded, data in a block cannot be altered retroactively
  • Open, distributed ledgers record transactions between two parties efficiently and in a verifiable and permanent way
  • Transactions don’t have to be just data – they can also be code or smart contracts

Top 3 Popular Blockchain Use Cases

#1 Cryptocurrency

Risk: Encrypted digital currencies identify the currency itself, but not its owner. Whoever holds the coin's encryption key owns the currency. This means that when a coin is stolen, it's gone—and you have no way of getting it back.
Solution: Storing your encryption keys in a FIPS-validated root of trust is critical to ensuring you own your keys and ultimately your cryptocurrency.

#2 Smart Contracts

Risk: A smart contract is a computer program that describes an agreement with the ability to self-execute and enforce the terms of a contract. If the blockchain is breached, a smart contract can be altered, breaking the trust of the blockchain and removing the ability for two parties to conduct business without the need for a middleman.
Solution: Securely self-execute the terms of a contract with anonymous parties through strong authentication and storing your encryption keys in a hardware root of trust, ensuring the parties are properly identified and that no one can access your data.

#3 Internet of Things (IoT)

Risk: The restrictions imposed by a traditional central-authority trust model have helped make the IoT vulnerable. Most notably Mirai-style botnets, which recently allowed hackers to easily take over thousands of IoT devices. Only protecting the IoT devices with default passwords allowed hackers to launch Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks.
Solution: Blockchain helps secure the IoT by providing a distributed trust model. The blockchain removes the single-point-of-failure, in turn enabling device networks to protect themselves in other ways, for example by allowing the nodes within a given network to quarantine any nodes that start behaving unusually.

Thales Blockchain Partners

Thales has partnered with industry-leading blockchain and cryptocurrency partners to provide enterprise-grade solutions for securing transactions. Together with partners such as Ledger, BitGo, and Symbiont, Thales is protecting the way industries are conducting business, bringing efficiency and establishing trust. Thales also supports multiple blockchain applications including Bitcoin, Hyperledger, Ethereum, Altcoins, Monero, and more.

Test       Test         Test

blockchain

Let us help

With all of the uncertainty about blockchain, the abundance of standards and protocols, and moving from a centralized to decentralized platform, getting started with Blockchain is challenging and intimidating at best. Avoid joining the myriad of blockchain organizations that are failing at implementing blockchain technology. Contact Thales to determine how you too can benefit from Blockchain, and learn how Thales’s HSM and SAS solutions can keep your transactions secure.

In our webinar, “Blockchain for payments: Experience on the ground”, we speak to some of the leading operators in the blockchain payments space to learn more about their experience to date and what they see for the future of blockchain payments.

Watch the Blockchain for Payments Webinar

Watch the IoT & Blockchain Webinar

You may also be interested in these related resources:

Bringing Trust to Blockchain with Thales HSM and SAS Solutions - Solution Brief

Bringing Trust to Blockchain with Thales HSM and SAS Solutions - Solution Brief

Blockchain is one of those industry buzzwords that you seem to hear everywhere, but what exactly is it and can you trust it? For the most part, enterprises are implementing blockchain without truly understanding its purpose, and as much as 90% of enterprise blockchain projects...

Securing Blockchain with Ledger and Thales ProtectServer HSMs - Solution Brief

Securing Blockchain with Ledger and Thales ProtectServer HSMs - Solution Brief

Secure cold storage of cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin or Ethereum, is a difficult and complex challenge. Traditional paper wallet-based solutions may be effective for the most basic use cases, but they present a substantial challenge for more complex environments as they do...

Securing Digital Currency with BitGo Multi-Signature and Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

Securing Digital Currency with BitGo Multi-Signature and Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

With the invention of Bitcoin and blockchains, cryptocurrencies and digital assets are rapidly coming to mainstream finance. Security of systems processing digital assets is paramount, and today’s financial institutions expect all the robustness and security of traditional...

Securing Symbiont Smart Securities™ with Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

Securing Symbiont Smart Securities™ with Thales HSMs - Solution Brief

Thales and Symbiont have partnered to transform the way financial markets transmit value and establish trust by bringing together the leading provider of hardware security modules (HSMs) with the pioneer of Smart Securities™ based on blockchain technology to allow institutions...

FreeBit Co., Ltd.: Bringing blockchain technology and Thales Luna HSMs together to forge an innovative digital key infrastructure - Case Study

FreeBit Co., Ltd.: Bringing blockchain technology and Thales Luna HSMs together to forge an innovative digital key infrastructure - Case Study

The demand for digital keys as an integral part of a highly convenient network society is growing. At the forefront of the spread of digital keys are the automotive, housing and hotel industries. FreeBit Co., Ltd., (hereinafter referred to as “FreeBit”), a company engaged in...