Thales banner

Sicherheit für die Google Cloud Platform

Bring Your Own Encryption, Bring oder Hold Your Own Key, Secure Identity Verification

Sicherheit in der Google-Cloud

Sichere Workloads in allen hybriden Clouds einschließlich Google Cloud

Google Cloud Partner

Informationstechnologie-Workloads in Google Cloud können sowohl Komfort als auch Kosteneinsparungen bieten. Dennoch müssen Sie die Sicherheits-, Datenschutz- und Compliance-Vorschriften sowie bewährte Verfahren zum Schutz von Daten beachten. Außerdem benötigen Sie schnelle Datenmobilität in allen derzeit und zukünftig genutzten Clouds – eine Anforderung, deren Erfüllung durch spezifische Verschlüsselungslösungen der Cloud-Anbieter erschwert werden kann. Außerdem ist Google über Google Apps als einer der wenigen Hyperscaler-Cloud-Dienstanbieter sowohl als IaaS/PaaS- als auch als SaaS-Anbieter qualifiziert. Die beste Möglichkeit zum Schutz von SaaS ist eine umfassende Identitätsprüfung.

Während Google Cloud alle gespeicherten Kundendaten verschlüsselt, haben Thales und Google eine Partnerschaft geschlossen, um Google-Cloud-Kunden dabei zu unterstützen, ihre sensiblen Informationen noch besser zu schützen. Die hier vorgestellten Lösungen sind das Ergebnis der Partnerschaft zwischen Thales und Google Cloud.

2022 Cybersecurity Excellence Awards

Thales Protection for Google Client Side Encryption awarded
the Gold 2022 Cybersecurity Excellence Award for
Best Google Cloud Security

The 2022 Cybersecurity Excellence Awards honor individuals and companies that demonstrate excellence, innovation and leadership in information security. With over 900 entries in more than 250 award categories, the 2022 Awards program is highly competitive. All winners reflect the very best in innovation and excellence in tackling today’s urgent cybersecurity challenges.

Google-Cloud-Partner-Logo

Wie können Sie Ihre Daten in der Google Cloud sichern?

Um das Modell der geteilten Verantwortung für die Cloud-Sicherheit umzusetzen, sollten Sie auf Bring Your Own Key (BYOK), Hold Your Own Key (HYOK) oder Mechanismen zur Entdeckung sensibler Daten und Bring Your Own Encryption (BYOE) setzen. Darüber hinaus benötigen Sie eine externe richtlinienbasierte Zugriffsverwaltung mit intelligentem Single Sign-on (SSO) und Multifaktor-Authentifizierung (MFA).

Bring Your Own Key oder Hold Your Own Key – Cloud Key Management

Die Google Cloud Platform bietet zwei Mechanismen, die es Ihnen ermöglichen, eigenes Schlüsselmaterial zu besitzen.

Thales unterstützt sowohl vom Kunden verwaltete kryptographische Schlüssel (Customer-Managed Encryption Keys – CMEK) als auch externe Schlüsselverwaltungsdienste (External Key Management Services – EKMS): 

Schnellmenü umschalten
Schnellzugriff

Entdecken und schützen Sie sensible Daten und kontrollieren Sie kryptographische Schlüssel

Entscheiden Sie sich für Lösungen, die es Ihnen ermöglichen, Daten in Google Cloud und darüber hinaus zu erkennen und zu schützen und dabei die Kontrolle über die kryptographischen Schlüssel zu haben.

Nutzen Sie eine Technologie, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, sensible Daten zu identifizieren und zu klassifizieren, die weltweit Datenschutzvorschriften unterliegen, und diese Daten anschließend mit fortschrittlicher Verschlüsselung und richtlinienbasierter Zugriffsverwaltung zu schützen und zu kontrollieren. Alternativ können Sie Anwendungen so gestalten, dass sie Cloud-nativ sind, und Daten mithilfe von Tokenisierung ohne Vault und dynamischer Datenmaskierung schützen.

Lokalisieren Sie regulierte Daten mit optimierten Workflows, die dazu beitragen, Sicherheitslücken zu beseitigen. Integrierte Erkennungs- und Klassifizierungsvorlagen ermöglichen einen schnellen Einstieg und bieten die nötige Flexibilität für die Erstellung neuer Richtlinien. Anhand detaillierter Berichte können Sie die Einhaltung von Vorschriften, Regelungen und Gesetzen nachweisen. Entdecken Sie CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification.

Schützen Sie Ihre Daten mit erweiterter Verschlüsselung, wenn Sie entweder

  • 100 % Google Cloud-basiert mit strengen Datensicherheitskontrollen sind, ODER
  • hybride Clouds mit Daten ausführen, die auf Ihre private On-Premises-Cloud, mehrere Cloud-Anbieter und Google Cloud verteilt sind

Was sind die Vorteile erweiterter Verschlüsselung?

  • Der transparente Schutz von Daten entweder auf Betriebssystem- oder auf Anwendungsebene stärkt die Datensicherheit zum Schutz vor weiteren Bedrohungen, von Ransomware und APTs bis hin zu Insider-Risiken und schützt Daten sogar vor dem Zugriff durch Google
  • Sie erhalten Datenportabilität zwischen Clouds, möglicherweise sogar ohne Egress-Gebühren

Erzielen Sie mit CipherTrust Transparent Encryption eine schnelle Kapitalrendite. Schützen Sie Daten, ohne dass Änderungen an Anwendungen, Datenbanken, Infrastruktur oder Geschäftspraktiken erforderlich sind. Die Lösungen von Google Storage verschlüsseln alle Data-at-Rest, geben sie jedoch unverschlüsselt an die Betriebssysteme weiter. Die meisten Datendiebstähle sind auf Schwachstellen im Betriebssystem, in den Anwendungen oder unaufmerksame Benutzer zurückzuführen. Kontrollen auf Betriebssystemebene in Kombination mit detaillierten Richtlinien für den Zugriff bieten Ihnen den Schutz, den Ihre sensiblen Daten benötigen.

Cloud-native Anwendungen verfügen möglicherweise nicht über Betriebssysteme, auf denen Transparent Encryption ausgeführt werden kann. Sichern Sie Ihre Daten in nativen Cloud-Anwendungen mit:

Hochsicherer Vertrauensanker mit Thales-Luna-HSM

Sichern und schützen Sie Ihre Daten in der Google Cloud mit hochsicheren, gemäß FIPS 140-2 Level 3 validierten Hardware-Sicherheitsmodulen (HSM).

Luna-HSM unterstützen die Google Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys (CSEK) und den Google-Cloud-EKM-Dienst. Für bequemen Zugriff auf eigene qualitativ hochwertige kryptographische Schlüssel stellt Thales Data Protection on Demand (DPoD) ein umfassendes Sortiment an Luna-Cloud-HSM- und CipherTrust-Schlüsselverwaltungsdiensten über einen einfachen Online-Marktplatz bereit. Auf dem Google Marketplace sind mehrere DPoD-basierte Dienste verfügbar: Luna Cloud HSM, eine Allzweck-HSM-Lösung, die ISV- und kundeneigene Anwendungen unterstützt, und der CipherTrust Key Broker für Google EKM, der die sichere Erstellung und Kontrolle von kryptographischen Schlüsseln außerhalb der Google-Cloud-Umgebung ermöglicht.

Google empfiehlt Richtlinien-basierte Zugriffsverwaltung für Google Cloud

Verwenden Sie einen externen Identitätsanbieter (Identity Provider, IDP), um sicheren Zugriff auf Ihre Daten zu gewährleisten – behalten Sie die Kontrolle, selbst wenn es im Google-Cloud-Backend zu einer Sicherheitsverletzung kommt.

Es ist wichtig, sich nicht auf einen einzigen Cloud-Anbieter festzulegen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, einen IDP zu wählen, der mehrere Clouds unterstützt, damit Sie nicht an einen einzigen Cloud-Anbieter gebunden sind, wenn sich Ihre Geschäftsanforderungen ändern.

SafeNet Trusted Access (STA)

STA ist ein Cloud-basierter Dienst, der als vertrauenswürdiger Anbieter von Identitäten für lokale und Cloud-Anwendungen in Google Cloud, anderen öffentlichen Clouds und privaten Clouds fungiert.

STA bietet die Möglichkeit zur sicheren Bereitstellung einer Zugriffsverwaltungslösung in der gesamten Umgebung eines Unternehmens, über alle Betriebssysteme und Clouds hinweg.

STA schützt Cloud-Ressourcen am Anmeldepunkt durch Authentifizierung und bedingten Zugriff und erzwingt richtlinienbasierte Zugriffskontrollen bei jeder Anmeldung eines Benutzers bei einer Anwendung. Weitere Informationen über SafeNet Trusted Access.

2FA-Compliance

Verschiedene Compliance-Vorschriften verlangen eine Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung (2FA) für die Verwaltung von Cloud-Ressourcen.

STA unterstützt 2FA und kann für die Unterstützung der Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung (MFA) in Google Cloud konfiguriert werden.

Cloud-SSO und MFA für Administratoren und Kunden

Darüber hinaus unterstützt es die Einhaltung von Compliance-Vorschriften

STA verbessert die Produktivität von IT-Administratoren und Kunden, ohne dass dies auf Kosten der Sicherheit geht, indem es Unterstützung für Cloud-Single-Sign-on (SSO) und MFA in Google Cloud bietet.

Sicherheit für Google Workspace

Bestehen Sie Audits und gewährleisten Sie Compliance

Compliance-Mandate wie DSGVO und PCI DSS verlangen, dass Protokolle darüber geführt werden, wer Zugriff auf welche Anwendungen hat und wie deren Identität überprüft wird.

SafeNet Trusted Access (STA) ist ein Cloud-basierter Dienst, der als vertrauenswürdiger Identitätsanbieter (Identity Provider, IDP) für Google Workspace und andere Cloud- und Web-basierte Anwendungen von Drittanbietern fungiert. Als IDP bietet STA IT-Administratoren die Möglichkeit, eine Lösung für die Zugriffsverwaltung in ihrer gesamten Umgebung, einschließlich Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen, problemlos bereitzustellen.

STA sichert den Zugriff auf Google Workspace und authentifiziert die Identitäten der Benutzer:

  • für alle Betriebssysteme
  • on-premises und in Cloud-Anwendungen
  • in Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen

Mit STA können Sie in wenigen Minuten einen richtlinienbasierten Zugriff für SSO und 2FA/MFA für alle Ihre Cloud- und Web-basierten Anwendungen einrichten.

Google Workspace mit Verschlüsselung auf Client-Seite

Google Workspace bietet jetzt erweiterte Datenschutz- und Vertraulichkeitsoptionen mit Verschlüsselung auf Client-Seite

Durch die Kombination von SafeNet Trusted Access und CipherTrust Cloud Key Manager erhalten Geschäftskunden die volle Kontrolle über ihre kryptographischen Schlüssel.

Gemäß dem Konzept der „gemeinsamen Verantwortung für die Cloud-Sicherheit“ empfiehlt Google seinen Kunden, sowohl einen externen Schlüsselmanager (External Key Manager, EKM) als auch einen Identitätsanbieter (Identity Provider, IDP) zu verwenden, um sicherzustellen, dass nur autorisierte und authentifizierte Personen auf geschützte Dokumente zugreifen können. Nur Thales entwickelt sowohl einen unabhängigen IDP als auch eine Lösung für die Schlüsselverwaltung.

Thales Security Solutions for Google Workspace - Solution Brief

Thales Security Solutions for Google Workspace - Solution Brief

Thales supports client-side encryption for: Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar and calls over Google Meet. Google recommends that Google Workspace customers use an external key manager (EKM) and Identity Provider (IDP) to support the industry-standard shared responsibility...

Creating Trusted Collaboration with Google Workspace and Thales - Webinar

Creating Trusted Collaboration with Google Workspace and Thales - Webinar

The transition of moving workloads and applications to the cloud is frequently spearheaded by leveraging cloud-based collaboration suites such as Google Workspace. While offering immense benefits in terms of easy, anywhere access from any device, recent lateral attacks within...

Thales background banner

Google Cloud Platform Security

Bring Your Own Encryption, Bring or Hold Your Own Key, Secure Identity Verification

Google Cloud Security

Secure Workloads Across Hybrid Clouds Including Google Cloud

Information technology workloads in Google Cloud can deliver both convenience and cost savings. However, you still need to follow security, privacy and compliance rules, as well as best practices, for protecting data. Further, you need rapid data mobility across all clouds you currently use and those in your future, a need which can be compromised with cloud-vendor-specific encryption solutions. And, as one of the few hyperscaler cloud service providers, Google Apps qualify Google as both an IaaS/PaaS and SaaS provider. And the best way to protect SaaS is with comprehensive identity verification.

While Google Cloud encrypts all customer data at rest, Thales and Google have forged a relationship to help Google Cloud customers further protect their sensitive information. The solutions discussed here are part of the Thales and Google Cloud relationship.

Google Cloud Partner Logo

How can you secure your data in Google Cloud?

To fulfill the shared responsibility model for cloud security, choose Bring Your Own Key (BYOK), Hold Your Own Key (HYOK), or mechanisms to discover sensitive data and Bring Your Own Encryption (BYOE). In addition, you need external policy-based access management with smart single sign on (SSO) and multifactor authentication (MFA).

Bring or Hold Your Own Key – Cloud Key Management

Google Cloud Platform offers 2 mechanisms that allow you to own encryption key material

Thales supports both Customer-Managed Encryption Keys (CMEK) and External Key Management Services (EKMS): 

Discover and Protect Sensitive Data and Control Encryption Keys

Choose solutions that give you data discovery and protection with encryption key control in Google Cloud and beyond

Use technology that  enables you to find and classify sensitive data subject to data privacy or protection mandates worldwide and then protect and control the data with advanced encryption and policy-based access management. Or you can architect applications to be cloud-native and protect data using vaultless tokenization with dynamic data masking.

Locate regulated data with streamlined workflows that help eliminate security blind spots. Built-in discovery and classification templates offer a quick start with the flexibility needed to create new policies. Detailed reports can demonstrate compliance with rules, regulations and laws. Discover CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification.

Protect Data with Advanced Encryption if you’re either

  • 100% Google Cloud-based with stringent data security controls, OR
  • Running hybrid clouds with data distributed across your on-premises private cloud, multiple cloud providers, and in Google Cloud

What are the benefits of advanced encryption?

  • Protecting data either transparently at the OS level or at the application layer strengthens data security against more threats, from ransomware and APT’s to insider risks and even protecting data from Google’s access
  • You gain data portability between clouds, even potentially without egress fees

Realize a fast return on investment with CipherTrust Transparent Encryption. Protect data without changes to applications, databases, infrastructure, or business practices. Google Storage solutions encrypt all data at rest but deliver data in the clear to operating systems. Most data thefts are due to compromises in the operating system, applications, or distracted users. OS-level controls combined with granular access policies give you the protection your sensitive data requires.

Cloud native applications might not have operating systems on which to run Transparent Encryption. Secure your data in cloud native applications with:

High Assurance Root of Trust with Thales Luna HSMs

Secure and protect your data in Google Cloud with high assurance FIPS 140-2 Level 3-validated Hardware Security Modules (HSMs)

Luna HSMs support Google Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys (CSEK) and the Google Cloud EKM service. For encryption key quality, ownership and convenience, Thales Data Protection on Demand (DPoD) provides a wide range of Cloud HSM and key management services through a simple online marketplace.

Google Recommends Policy-based Access Management for Google Cloud

Use an external Identity Provider (IDP) to protect your access security -- keep control even if the Google Cloud back end is breached

It is important to not be locked into a single cloud vendor. We recommend you choose an IDP that supports multiple clouds, so when your business needs change -- you aren’t locked in to a single cloud vendor.

SafeNet Trusted Access (STA)

STA is a cloud-based service that acts as the trusted identity provider for on-premises and cloud apps in Google Cloud, other public clouds, and private clouds.

STA provides the ability to securely deploy an access management solution across an organization’s entire environment, across all operating systems and clouds.

STA protects cloud resources at the log in point by using authentication and conditional access, and enforcing policy-based access controls every time a user logs into an app. Read more about SafeNet Trusted Access.

2FA Compliance

Various compliance regulations require two-factor authentication (2FA) for managing cloud resources

STA supports 2FA and can be configured to support multi-factor authentication (MFA) in Google Cloud.

Cloud SSO and MFA for Administrators and Customers

In addition to supporting compliance regulations

STA improves productivity for IT administrators and customers without decreasing security by providing support for Cloud Single Sign On (SSO) and MFA in Google Cloud.

Google Workspace Security

Pass Audits, Stay in Compliance

Compliance mandates such as GDPR and PCI DSS, require logs of who has access, to which apps, and how their identity is verified

SafeNet Trusted Access (STA) is a cloud-based service that acts as the trusted identity provider (IDP) for Google Workspace and other third-party cloud and web-based apps. As an IDP, STA provides IT administrators with the ability to easily deploy an access management solution across their entire environment, including multiple clouds.

STA secures access to Google Workspace and authenticates user identities across:

  • All operating systems
  • On-premise and cloud apps
  • Multi-cloud environments

In minutes, STA enables you to set policy-based access for SSO and 2FA/MFA for all your cloud and web apps.

Google Workspace Client-side encryption

Google Workspace now provides enhanced privacy and confidentiality options with Client-side encryption

Enterprise customers can have full control over their encryption keys by combining SafeNet Trusted Access and CipherTrust Cloud Key Manager.

Adhering to the concept of “shared responsibility for cloud security”, Google recommends that customers use both an external key manager (EKM) and Identity Provider (IDP) to ensure that only authorized and authenticated individuals can access protected documents. Only Thales develops both an independent IDP and key management solution.

Thales Security Solutions for Google Workspace - Solution Brief

Thales Security Solutions for Google Workspace - Solution Brief

Google recommends that Google Workspace customers adopt the industry-standard and increasingly well-known shared responsibility model by using an external Identity Provider (IDP) and key manager (EKM) to ensure that only authorized and authenticated individuals can access...

Creating Trusted Collaboration with Google Workspace and Thales - Webinar

Creating Trusted Collaboration with Google Workspace and Thales - Webinar

The transition of moving workloads and applications to the cloud is frequently spearheaded by leveraging cloud-based collaboration suites such as Google Workspace. While offering immense benefits in terms of easy, anywhere access from any device, recent lateral attacks within...