bg-intro-1-banner

Conformité DEFCON 658

Thales aide les entreprises à rester conformes aux principales dispositions du protocole DEFCON 658 du ministère de la Défense du Royaume-Uni.

DEFCON 658

Test

Le protocole DEFCON 658 du ministère de la Défense britannique vise à protéger toute la chaîne d’approvisionnement du secteur de la défense contre les cybermenaces. Il s’applique aux fournisseurs ou fournisseurs potentiels du ministère de la Défense soumissionnant pour des contrats impliquant le traitement d’informations identifiables du ministère.

Les solutions Thales proposent un ensemble d’outils destinés à vous aider à vous conformer à DEFCON 658, et notamment :

  • La découverte et la classification des données sensibles afin d’identifier les données que vous avez besoin de protéger
  • Un contrôle des accès, qui garantit que seuls les utilisateurs accrédités puissent accéder aux données sensibles
  • Des journaux de renseignements de sécurité qui identifient les situations d’accès irrégulières et les violations en cours
  • Un chiffrement et une gestion des clés solides, qui permettent de rendre les données sensibles inexploitables pour les utilisateurs non autorisés
  • Réglementation
  • Conformité

Résumé

DEFCON 658 est un protocole d’approvisionnement axé sur la cybersécurité. Tous les fournisseurs du ministère de la Défense britannique qui soumissionnent pour de nouveaux contrats nécessitant le transfert d’informations identifiables du ministère sont tenus de se conformer au protocole DEFCON 658 et de respecter les règles prescrites par la norme DEFSTAN 05-138. À noter que le respect du protocole DEFCON 658 est également imposé aux chaînes d’approvisionnement (c'est-à-dire aux sous-traitants) des fournisseurs eux-mêmes.

Non-conformité

DEFCON 658 s’applique à tous les fournisseurs dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement du ministère de la Défense lorsque des informations identifiables du ministère sont impliquées. Toute entreprise ne respectant pas les dispositions de ce protocole se verra dans l’impossibilité de participer aux procédures de passation de marché du ministère de la Défense.

Résumé relatif à la conformité

La norme DEFSTAN 05-138, qui spécifie les mesures que les fournisseurs du secteur de la défense sont tenus de mettre en place à chacun des cinq niveaux de cyberrisque dont un contrat peut être évalué comme porteur, prévoit plusieurs contrôles spécifiques à la protection des informations sensibles, comme indiqué ci-dessous.

Thales fournit des solutions de sécurité des données permettant d’assurer ces contrôles. Notez que si les contrôles sont définis en fonction du niveau de risque associé au contrat en question (faible, moyen ou élevé), les solutions de Thales s’appliquent simultanément à plusieurs contrôles relevant du même domaine, et sont donc consolidées, tel qu’exposé ci-dessous.

Mesures de contrôle

L.07 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique de contrôle d’accès aux informations et aux installations de traitement de l’information.
M.06 S’assurer que l’organisation a identifié les propriétaires des actifs et que lesdits propriétaires contrôlent l’accès à leurs actifs.
L.12 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique de gestion des droits d’accès aux comptes utilisateurs.

Les solutions de Thales

Thales dispose d’un ensemble complet de solutions qui peuvent aider les organisations à se préparer et à se conformer au protocole DEFCON 658 dans tous les domaines où des données doivent être protégées (au repos, en transit et en cours d’utilisation), notamment :

  • Découverte et classification des données sensibles
  • Gestion des accès et authentification
  • Chiffrement des données au repos et des données en transit
  • Protection certifiée des clés de chiffrement
  • Tokénisation avec masquage dynamique des données

Découverte et classification des données sensibles

La première étape de la protection des données sensibles consiste à trouver les données, quel que soit l’endroit où elles se trouvent au sein de l’organisation, à les classer comme sensibles et à les classer par type (p. ex. PII, financières, IP, HHI, confidentielles, etc.), afin de pouvoir appliquer les techniques de protection des données les plus appropriées. Il est également important de surveiller et d’évaluer régulièrement les données pour s’assurer qu’aucune nouvelle donnée n’est négligée et que votre organisation n’enfreint aucune règle de conformité.

La solution CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification de Thales identifie de manière efficace les données sensibles structurées et non structurées sur site et dans le cloud. Prenant en charge les modèles de déploiement sans agent et avec agent, cette solution fournit des modèles intégrés qui permettent une identification rapide des données réglementées, mettent en évidence les risques de sécurité et vous aident à découvrir les lacunes en matière de conformité. Grâce à un flux de travail rationalisé, les zones d’ombre en matière de sécurité sont exposées et le temps de remédiation réduit. Des rapports détaillés sont générés en vue d’enrichir les programmes de conformité et de faciliter la communication avec les dirigeants.

Protection des données sensibles au repos

Séparation des utilisateurs à accès privilégié et des données sensibles des utilisateurs

Grâce à CipherTrust Data Security Platform, les administrateurs peuvent mettre en place une séparation des tâches stricte entre les administrateurs privilégiés et les propriétaires des données. CipherTrust Transparent Encryption chiffre les fichiers sans toucher aux métadonnées. De cette manière, les administrateurs informatiques (y compris les administrateurs d’hyperviseur, de cloud, de stockage et de serveur) peuvent effectuer leurs tâches d’administration de système sans obtenir d’accès privilégié aux données sensibles qui se trouvent dans les systèmes qu’ils sont amenés à gérer.

Séparation des tâches d’administration

Il est possible de mettre en place des politiques de séparation des tâches strictes pour s’assurer qu’aucun administrateur ne bénéficie d’un contrôle complet sur les activités de sécurité des données, les clés de chiffrement ou l’administration. De plus, CipherTrust Manager prend en charge l’authentification à deux facteurs pour l’accès administrateur.

Contrôle granulaire des accès privilégiés

CipherTrust Data Security Platform peut exécuter des politiques de gestion des accès pour les utilisateurs les moins privilégiés à niveau de granularité élevé, ce qui permet de protéger les données contre les abus d’utilisation et les attaques de type APT. Il est possible d’appliquer des politiques de gestion des accès d’utilisateurs privilégiés granulaires en fonction de l’utilisateur, du processus, du type de fichier, de l’heure et d’autres paramètres. Les options de mise en application peuvent porter non seulement sur les permissions d’accès aux données en clair, mais également sur les commandes de système de fichiers disponibles pour les utilisateurs.

Gestion des accès et authentification robustes

Les solutions de gestion des accès et d’authentification de Thales fournissent à la fois les mécanismes de sécurité et les fonctionnalités de génération de rapports dont les entreprises ont besoin pour se conformer aux réglementations sur la sécurité des données. Nos solutions protègent les données sensibles en mettant en application les contrôles d’accès appropriés lorsque les utilisateurs se connectent aux applications qui stockent des données sensibles. En prenant en charge un large éventail de méthodes d’authentification et un accès dépendant du rôle et reposant sur des politiques, nos solutions aident les entreprises à réduire les risques de violation de données dues à des identifiants compromis ou volés, ou à une utilisation abusive des identifiants en interne.

La prise en charge du SSO intelligent et de l’authentification renforcée permet aux organisations d’optimiser le confort des utilisateurs finaux, leur permettant de s’authentifier uniquement lorsque cela s’avère nécessaire. Grâce à des rapports approfondis, les entreprises peuvent produire une piste d’audit détaillée de tous les événements d’accès et d’authentification, ce qui leur permet de prouver leur conformité à un large éventail de réglementations.

Mesures de contrôle

L.10 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique de sécurité de l’information ainsi que les processus et procédures associés.
M.04 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique de stockage, d’accès et de traitement sécurisé des informations sensibles.

Les solutions de Thales

Politiques de sécurité détaillées. La plateforme CipherTrust Data Security Platform propose des contrôles centralisés qui permettent une gestion homogène et reproductible du chiffrement, des politiques d’accès et des renseignements de sécurité pour toutes vos données structurées et non structurées. Elle est disponible sous forme d’appliances virtuelles et physiques certifiées FIPS 140-2 et conformes aux critères communs (« Common Criteria »).

Extensibilité. Reposant sur une infrastructure extensible, les composants de la plateforme CipherTrust Data Security Platform peuvent être déployés individuellement, tout en offrant une gestion efficace et centralisée des clés et des politiques.

Sécurité robuste pour les données sensibles. Thales aide à protéger les données sensibles grâce à la solution CipherTrust Transparent Encryption qui offre une gestion des clés intégrée pour les données au repos, grâce à la protection des données des applications et grâce à la tokénisation avec masquage dynamique. Ces techniques rendent les données illisibles et inutilisables sans les clés nécessaires pour les déchiffrer.

Mesures de contrôle

L.16 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique de gestion des incidents, devant inclure des mesures de détection, de résolution et de reprise.

Les solutions de Thales

Renseignements de sécurité. La plateforme CipherTrust Data Security Platform fournit des journaux de renseignements de sécurité qui précisent quels processus et utilisateurs ont accédé aux données protégées, dans le cadre de quelles politiques, et si les demandes d’accès ont été autorisées ou refusées. Les journaux de gestion révèlent même lorsqu’un utilisateur privilégié soumet une commande telle que le changement d’utilisateur pour imiter, et potentiellement exploiter, les identifiants d’un autre utilisateur. Le partage de ces journaux avec une plateforme de gestion des informations et des événements de sécurité (SIEM) permet de découvrir les accès de processus et d’utilisateurs irréguliers pouvant déclencher une enquête supplémentaire. Par exemple, un administrateur ou un processus pourrait soudainement accéder à des volumes de données beaucoup plus importants que d’habitude ou tenter d’effectuer un téléchargement non autorisé de fichiers. Ces événements pourraient être le signe d’une attaque de type APT ou d’activités malveillantes d’initiés.

Mesures de contrôle

M.16 Définir et mettre en œuvre une politique pour sécuriser les actifs de l’entreprise lors du départ de personnes de l’entreprise.

Les solutions de Thales

Contrôle des accès privilégiés et journaux de renseignements. Les politiques granulaires de gestion des accès de la plateforme CipherTrust Data Security Platform peuvent être appliquées par utilisateur et l’accès peut être révoqué pour les personnes qui ont quitté l’organisation. Toute tentative d’accès à des données sensibles refusée sera enregistrée dans les journaux de renseignements de sécurité de CipherTrust Security Intelligence.

Sécurisez vos actifs numériques, respectez les normes réglementaires et sectorielles et protégez la réputation de votre organisation. Découvrez comment Thales peut vous aider.

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

This ebook shows how Thales data security solutions enable you to meet global compliance and data privacy requirements including - GDPR, Schrems II, PCI-DSS and data breach notification laws.

Thales CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification - Product Brief

Thales CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification - Fiche produit

La première étape vers la conformité est de comprendre ce qui constitue les données sensibles, où elles sont stockées et comment elles sont utilisées. Si vous ne savez pas quelles données sensibles vous possédez, où elles résident et pourquoi elles sont là, vous ne pouvez pas...

SafeNet Trusted Access - Solution Brief

SafeNet Trusted Access - Solution Brief

More and more cloud-based services are becoming an integral part of the enterprise, as they lower costs and management overhead while increasing flexibility. Cloud-based authentication services, especially when part of a broader access management service, are no exception, and...

Guide to Authentication Technologies - White Paper

A Comprehensive Guide to Authentication Technologies and Methods - White Paper

Authentication solutions need to be frictionless. Adopting methods with a higher Authentication Assurance Level and Stronger authentication, can effectively reduce the risk of attacks. Explore authentication technologies to learn: • Selecting authentication methods • Analysis...

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - White Paper

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - White Paper

Enterprise digital transformation and increasingly sophisticated IT security threats have resulted in a progressively more dangerous environment for enterprises with sensitive data, even as compliance and regulatory requirements for sensitive data protection rise. With attacks...

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - Product Brief

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - Product Brief

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption delivers data-at-rest encryption with centralized key management, privileged user access control, and detailed data access audit logging that helps organizations meet compliance and best practice requirements for protecting data, wherever it...

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

Traditionally organizations have focused IT security primarily on perimeter defense, building walls to block external threats from entering the network. However, with today’s proliferation of data, evolving global and regional privacy regulations, growth of cloud adoption, and...

The Enterprise Encryption Blueprint - White Paper

The Enterprise Encryption Blueprint - White Paper

You’ve been tasked with setting and implementing an enterprise wide encryption strategy, one that will be used to guide and align each Line of Business, Application Owner, Database Administrator and Developer toward achieving the goals and security requirements that you define...

eBook – Le chiffrement intégral, guide pratique pour protéger vos données sensibles

eBook – Le chiffrement intégral, guide pratique pour protéger vos données sensibles

En tant qu’expert en matière de sécurité des données pour votre entreprise, vous devez protéger les données sensibles de votre organisation en développant et appliquant une stratégie de chiffrement à l’échelle de l’entreprise. Mais il est très difficile d’identifier où...

Autres réglementations de protection des données et sécurité importantes

RGPD

RÉGLEMENTATION
EN VIGUEUR

Le RGPD est peut-être la norme de confidentialité des données la plus complète à ce jour. Elle concerne toute organisation qui traite les données personnelles des citoyens de l'UE - quel que soit le lieu du siège de l'organisation.

PCI DSS

MANDAT
EN VIGUEUR

Toute organisation qui joue un rôle dans le traitement des paiements par carte de crédit et de débit doit se conformer aux exigences strictes de conformité PCI DSS pour le traitement, le stockage et la transmission des données de compte.

Lois sur la notification des brèches de données

RÉGLEMENTATION
EN VIGUEUR

Partout dans le monde, des nouvelles exigences en matière de notification des brèches de données ont vu le jour suite à la perte d'informations personnelles. Elles varient selon les juridictions mais comprennent presque toutes une clause de "safe harbour".

bg-intro-1-banner

DEFCON 658 Compliance

Thales enables compliance with key provisions of the UK Ministry of Defence’s DEFCON 658.

DEFCON 658

Test

The UK Ministry of Defence’s (MOD) DEFCON 658 aims to protect the defense supply chain from cyber threats and applies to organizations that supply or wish to supply the MOD on contracts that handle MOD Identifiable Information (MODII).

Thales solutions provide tools to help you comply with DEFCON 658, including:

  • Sensitive data discovery and classification to find the data you need to protect
  • Access control, which ensures only credentialed users can retrieve sensitive data
  • Security intelligence logs that identify irregular access patterns and breaches in progress
  • Strong encryption and key management, which render sensitive data useless to unauthorized users
  • Regulation
  • Compliance

Summary

DEFCON 658 is a procurement protocol on cybersecurity. It requires all suppliers to the UK’s Ministry of Defence, who bid for new contracts that necessitate the transfer of MODII, to abide by DEFCON 658 and meet the standards mandated in DEFSTAN 05-138. Notably, adherence to DEFCON 658 extends to the supply chains (sub-contractors) of the suppliers themselves.

Non-compliance

DEFCON 658 applies to all suppliers throughout the MOD supply chain when MODII is involved, and organizations that do not adhere to its requirements will not be able to participate in MOD contracts.

Compliance summary

DEF STAN 05-138, which specifies the measures that defence suppliers are required to achieve at each of the five levels of cyber risk that a contract can be assessed as carrying, includes several controls specific to the protection of sensitive information, as outlined below.

Thales provides data security solutions that help address these controls, as indicated. Note that while the controls are defined based on the risks associated with the contract (Low, Medium or High), Thales’s solutions apply across similar controls simultaneously, and are therefore consolidated below.

Control measures

L.07 Define and implement a policy to control access to information and information processing facilities.
M.06 Ensure the organisation has identified asset owners and asset owners control access to their assets.
L.12 Define and implement a policy to manage the access rights of user accounts.

Thales solutions

Thales has a comprehensive set of solutions that can help organizations prepare for and comply with DEFCON 658 across all areas where data needs to be protected -- at rest, in motion and in use, including:

  • Sensitive data discovery and classification
  • Access management and authentication
  • Encryption of data-at-rest and data-in-motion
  • Certified protection of encryption keys
  • Tokenization with dynamic data masking

Sensitive Data Discovery and Classification

The first step in protecting sensitive data is finding the data wherever it is in the organization, classifying it as sensitive, and typing it (e.g. PII, financial, IP, HHI, customer-confidential, etc.), so you can apply the most appropriate data protection techniques. It is also important to monitor and assess data regularly to ensure new data isn’t overlooked and your organization does not fall out of compliance.

Thales’ CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification efficiently identifies structured as well as unstructured sensitive data on-premises and in the cloud. Supporting both agentless and agent-based deployment models, the solution provides built-in templates that enable rapid identification of regulated data, highlight security risks, and help you uncover compliance gaps. A streamlined workflow exposes security blind spots and reduces remediation time. Detailed reporting supports compliance programs and facilitates executive communication.

Protection of sensitive data at rest

Separation of privileged access users and sensitive user data

With the CipherTrust Data Security Platform, administrators can create strong separation of duties between privileged administrators and data owners. CipherTrust Transparent Encryption encrypts files, while leaving their metadata in the clear. In this way, IT administrators -- including hypervisor, cloud, storage, and server administrators -- can perform their system administration tasks, without being able to gain privileged access to the sensitive data residing on the systems they manage.

Separation of administrative duties

Strong separation of duties policies can be enforced to ensure one administrator does not have complete control over data security activities, encryption keys, or administration. In addition, the CipherTrust Manager supports two-factor authentication for administrative access.

Granular privileged access controls

The CipherTrust Data Security Platform can enforce very granular, least-privileged-user access management policies, enabling protection of data from misuse by privileged users and APT attacks. Granular privileged-user-access management policies can be applied by user, process, file type, time of day, and other parameters. Enforcement options can control not only permission to access clear-text data, but what file-system commands are available to a user.

Strong access management and authentication

Thales Access Management and Authentication solutions provide both the security mechanisms and reporting capabilities organizations need to comply with data security regulations. Our solutions protect sensitive data by enforcing the appropriate access controls when users log into applications that store sensitive data. By supporting a broad range of authentication methods and policy driven role-based access, our solutions help enterprises mitigate the risk of data breach due to compromised or stolen credentials or through insider credential abuse.

Support for smart single sign on and step-up authentication allows organizations to optimize convenience for end users, ensuring they only have to authenticate when needed. Extensive reporting allows businesses to produce a detailed audit trail of all access and authentication events, ensuring they can prove compliance with a broad range of regulations.

Control measures

L.10 Define and implement an information security policy, related processes and procedures.
M.04 Define and implement a policy for storing, accessing, and handling sensitive information securely.

Thales solutions

Detailed security policies. The CipherTrust Data Security Platform delivers centralized controls that enable consistent and repeatable management of encryption, access policies, and security intelligence for all your structured and unstructured data. It is available as FIPS 140-2 and Common Criteria certified virtual and physical appliances.

Extensibility. Built on an extensible infrastructure, components of the CipherTrust Data Security Platform can be deployed individually, while offering efficient, centralized key and policy management.

Robust security for sensitive data. Thales helps protect sensitive data through CipherTrust Transparent Encryption with integrated Key Management for data at rest, Application Data Protection, and Tokenization with Dynamic Masking. These techniques make the data meaningless and worthless without the keys to decrypt it.

Control measures

L.16 Define and implement an incident management policy, which must include detection, resolution, and recovery.

Thales solutions

Security intelligence. The CipherTrust Data Security Platform provides Security Intelligence logs that specify which processes and users have accessed protected data, under which policies, and if access requests were allowed or denied. The management logs will even expose when a privileged user submits a command such as ‘switch users’ to imitate, and potentially exploit, the credentials of another user. Sharing these logs with a security information and event management (SIEM) platform helps uncover anomalous patterns in processes and user access, which can prompt further investigation. For example, an administrator or process may suddenly access much larger volumes of data than normal or attempt to do an unauthorized download of files. These events could point to an APT attack or malicious insider activities.

Control measures

M.16 Define and implement a policy to secure organisational assets when individuals cease to be employed by your organisation.

Thales solutions

Privileged access controls and intelligence logs. The CipherTrust Data Security Platform’s granular access management policies can be applied by user and access can be revoked for individuals who have left the organization. Any denied attempts to access sensitive data will be captured by CipherTrust’s Security Intelligence logs.

Secure your digital assets, comply with regulatory and industry standards, and protect your organization’s reputation. Learn how Thales can help.

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

This ebook shows how Thales data security solutions enable you to meet global compliance and data privacy requirements including - GDPR, Schrems II, PCI-DSS and data breach notification laws.

Thales CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification - Product Brief

Thales CipherTrust Data Discovery and Classification - Product Brief

Review the capabilities of data discovery and classification of sensitive data, which is integrated with the CipherTrust Manager management console.

SafeNet Trusted Access - Solution Brief

SafeNet Trusted Access - Solution Brief

More and more cloud-based services are becoming an integral part of the enterprise, as they lower costs and management overhead while increasing flexibility. Cloud-based authentication services, especially when part of a broader access management service, are no exception, and...

Guide to Authentication Technologies - White Paper

A Comprehensive Guide to Authentication Technologies and Methods - White Paper

Authentication solutions need to be frictionless. Adopting methods with a higher Authentication Assurance Level and Stronger authentication, can effectively reduce the risk of attacks. Explore authentication technologies to learn: • Selecting authentication methods • Analysis...

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - White Paper

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - White Paper

Enterprise digital transformation and increasingly sophisticated IT security threats have resulted in a progressively more dangerous environment for enterprises with sensitive data, even as compliance and regulatory requirements for sensitive data protection rise. With attacks...

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - Product Brief

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption - Product Brief

CipherTrust Transparent Encryption delivers data-at-rest encryption with centralized key management, privileged user access control, and detailed data access audit logging that helps organizations meet compliance and best practice requirements for protecting data, wherever it...

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

Traditionally organizations have focused IT security primarily on perimeter defense, building walls to block external threats from entering the network. However, with today’s proliferation of data, evolving global and regional privacy regulations, growth of cloud adoption, and...

The Enterprise Encryption Blueprint - White Paper

The Enterprise Encryption Blueprint - White Paper

You’ve been tasked with setting and implementing an enterprise wide encryption strategy, one that will be used to guide and align each Line of Business, Application Owner, Database Administrator and Developer toward achieving the goals and security requirements that you define...

Unshare and Secure Sensitive Data - Encrypt Everything - eBook

Unshare and Secure Sensitive Data - Encrypt Everything - eBook

Business critical data is flowing everywhere. The boundaries are long gone. As an enterprise-wide data security expert, you are being asked to protect your organization’s valuable assets by setting and implementing an enterprise-wide encryption strategy. IT security teams are...

Other key data protection and security regulations

GDPR

Regulation
Active Now

Perhaps the most comprehensive data privacy standard to date, GDPR affects any organization that processes the personal data of EU citizens - regardless of where the organization is headquartered.

PCI DSS

Mandate
Active Now

Any organization that plays a role in processing credit and debit card payments must comply with the strict PCI DSS compliance requirements for the processing, storage and transmission of account data.

Data Breach Notification Laws

Regulation
Active Now

Data breach notification requirements following loss of personal information have been enacted by nations around the globe. They vary by jurisdiction but almost universally include a “safe harbor” clause.