Thales background banner

Lösungen für die Einhaltung der Datensicherheit und regulatorischer Vorschriften

Thales unterstützt Apotheken bei der Einhaltung regulatorischer Datenschutzvorgaben durch Zugriffsverwaltung und Authentifizierung sowie datenzentrischen Datenschutz.

Apotheken

Apotheken müssen nicht nur die Anforderungen des PCI DSS, sondern auch Verordnungen wie HITECH and HIPAA sowie kommunale, Bundes- oder Ländergesetze zu Datenschutzverletzungen einhalten. Die Datenschutzlösungen von Thales unterstützen Apotheken dabei, ihre Daten zu sichern und regulatorische Vorgaben wie HIPAA durch Zugriffsverwaltung und Authentifizierung sowie datenzentrischen Datenschutz zu erfüllen.

  • Herausforderungen
  • Lösungen
  • Vorteile

PCI-DSS-Compliance

Der Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI DSS) schreibt vor, dass alle Unternehmen, die Daten von Karteninhabern annehmen, erfassen, übertragen, verarbeiten oder speichern, angemessene Schritte unternehmen müssen, um diese sensiblen Kundeninformationen jederzeit zu schützen.

Einhaltung von HIPAA/HITECH

Die HIPAA Security Rule verlangt von den betroffenen Unternehmen, technische Maßnahmen für den Schutz aller Electronic Personal Healthcare Information (ePHI), das heißt von elektronischen personenbezogenen Gesundheitsdaten, zu ergreifen. Das bezieht sich insbesondere auf Verschlüsselung, Zugriffskontrolle, die Verwaltung kryptographischer Schlüssel, Risikomanagement sowie die Prüfung und Überwachung von ePHI-Daten.

Das HITECH-Gesetz geht hinsichtlich der Anforderungen noch einen Schritt weiter und verlangt die Anzeige aller Datenschutzverletzungen „ungeschützter“, d. h. nicht verschlüsselter, persönlicher Gesundheitsakten (Personal Health Records, PHR). Darunter fallen auch Datenschutzverletzungen durch Geschäftspartner, Lieferanten und verbundenen Unternehmen. Die „HIPAA Omnibus Rule“ von 2013 macht schließlich Geschäftspartner für die Einhaltung der HIPAA Security Rule haftbar.

Einhaltung von internationalen, Bundes- und Ländervorgaben

Die Anzeigepflicht von Datenschutzverletzungen in Bezug auf den Verlust personenbezogener Daten wird in zunehmenden Maßen weltweit gesetzlich geregelt, darunter auf von den Bundesstaaten der USA. Gesetze zur Anzeigepflicht bei Datenschutzverletzungen unterscheiden sich je nach Rechtsprechung, enthalten aber fast alle eine so genannte „Safe Harbor“-Klausel, die Anwendung findet, wenn die Daten verschlüsselt waren.

Die Vorgaben der US-amerikanischen DEA für die elektronische Verordnung von Betäubungsmitteln beinhalten, dass das kryptographische Modul, das verwendet wird, um Datenelemente digital zu signieren, mindestens FIPS 140-2 Level 1 entspricht und dass der private Schlüssel der von der Apotheke genutzten Anwendung verschlüsselt gespeichert werden muss.

Die Lösungen von Thales für Zugriffsverwaltung und Authentifizierung sowie Datenschutz unterstützen Apotheken dabei, Datenschutzvorschriften einzuhalten, sichere Prüfungen zu ermöglichen, ihre Kunden zu schützen und Datenschutzverletzungen zu vermeiden, indem sie Daten unabhängig vom Gerät, Prozess oder der Plattform on-premises und in der Cloud schützen.

Zugriffsverwaltung und Authentifizierung

Die Zugriffsverwaltungs- und Authentifizierungslösungen von Thales bieten die erforderlichen Sicherheitsmechanismen und Berichtsfunktionen, die Apotheken für die Einhaltung von Datensicherheitsvorschriften einschließlich HITECH und HIPAA benötigen. Unsere Lösungen schützen sensible Daten, indem Sie geeignete Zugriffskontrollen durchsetzen, sobald Benutzer auf Anwendungen zugreifen, in denen sensible Daten gespeichert sind. Sie unterstützen eine große Bandbreite an Authentifizierungsmethoden sowie richtlinien- und rollenbasierten Zugriff und helfen Unternehmen dabei, das Risiko von Datenschutzverletzungen aufgrund kompromittierter oder gestohlener Zugangsdaten oder deren Missbrauch durch Insider zu senken. Dank intelligentem Single-Sign-on und Step-up-Authentifizierung können Organisationen die Benutzerfreundlichkeit erhöhen. Endbenutzer müssen sich nur bei Bedarf authentifizieren. Außerdem können Apotheken mithilfe umfangreicher Berichtsfunktionen detaillierte Audit-Protokolle aller Zugriffs- und Authentifizierungsereignisse erstellen. So ist die Einhaltung zahlreicher Vorschriften gewährleistet.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zu den Lösungen für Zugriffsverwaltung und Authentifizierung von Thales.

Datenschutz

Thales bietet branchenweit die umfassendsten und modernsten Datensicherheitslösungen für Apotheken an – unabhängig davon, wo sich diese Daten befinden. Die Datenschutzlösungen von Thales erkennen, klassifizieren und schützen die Daten durch Obfuskationstechnologien wie Verschlüsselung und Tokenisierung, sodass die Daten selbst bei einem Diebstahl für die Diebe unlesbar und nutzlos sind. Die Datenschutzlösungen von Thales umfassen:

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zu den Datenschutzlösungen von Thales.

Einhaltung von Cybersicherheitsstandards

Mit den Lösungen für Datenschutz und -sicherheit von Thales können Apotheken im gesamten Unternehmen, in der Cloud und in Big-Data-Umgebungen Datensicherheit erreichen und Informationen vor Datenschutzverletzungen schützen. So sind sie in der Lage, die weltweiten Standards und Vorschriften für Datensicherheit einzuhalten.

Die Datensicherheitslösungen von Thales

  • erfüllen gesetzliche Anforderungen und die bewährten Verfahren für den Datenschutz mithilfe erprobter, leistungsstarker und skalierbarer Lösungen.
  • können schnell und einfach installiert und verwendet werden
  • Senken Sie Ihre Betriebskosten und Ihren Kapitalaufwand und optimieren Sie die Mitarbeitereffizienz und -produktivität mithilfe der umfassenden integrierten Produkte und Dienstleistungen für die Datensicherheit von Thales.

Zugehörige Ressourcen

Achieving PCI DSS Compliance with Thales Data Protection - White Paper

Achieving PCI DSS Compliance with Thales Data Protection - White Paper

Consumers’ payment data continues to be a compelling target for criminals, and IT security defenses enacted to guard these assets continue to be circumvented. Virtually every major financial institution, retailer, and scores of payment processors have been the victims of...

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

Traditionally organizations have focused IT security primarily on perimeter defense, building walls to block external threats from entering the network. However, with today’s proliferation of data, evolving global and regional privacy regulations, growth of cloud adoption, and...

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

This ebook shows how Thales data security solutions enable you to meet global compliance and data privacy requirements including - GDPR, Schrems II, PCI-DSS and data breach notification laws.

pharmacies-banner

Data Security Compliance and Regulatory Solutions for Retail Pharmacies

Thales helps retail pharmacy customers comply with regulatory requirements for data protection through access management and authentication and data-centric data protection.

Pharmacies

Retail pharmacies are in the uncomfortable position of needing to comply not only with PCI DSS requirements but also regulations such as HITECH and HIPAA, and State, Federal, and local data breach statutes. Thales’s data protection solutions help retail pharmacies secure their data and comply with regulatory requirements such as HIPAA compliance through access management and authentication and data-centric data protection.

  • Challenges
  • Solutions
  • Benefits

PCI DSS Compliance

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI DSS) mandates that all organizations that accept, acquire, transmit, process, or store cardholder data must take appropriate steps to continuously safeguard all sensitive customer information.

HIPAA/HITECH Compliance

The HIPAA Security Rule requires covered organizations to implement technical safeguards to protect all Electronic Personal Healthcare Information (ePHI), making specific reference to encryption, access controls, encryption key management, risk management, auditing and monitoring of ePHI information.

The HITECH act then expands the compliance requirement set, requiring the disclosure of data breaches of “unprotected” (unencrypted) personal health records (PHR), including those by business associates, vendors and related entities. Finally, the “HIPAA Omnibus Rule” of 2013 formally holds business associates liable for compliance with the HIPAA Security Rule.

International, Federal and State Regulatory Compliance

Data breach notification requirements on loss of personal information have increasingly been enacted by nations around the globe as well as by US State governments. Data breach disclosure laws and notification requirements vary by jurisdiction, but almost universally include a “safe harbor” clause if the data lost was was encrypted.

The DEA’s requirements for EPCS include that the cryptographic module used to digitally sign data elements be at least FIPS 140-2 Level 1 validated and that the pharmacy application’s private key must be stored encrypted.

Thales Access Management & Authentication and Data Protection solutions help pharmacies meet data security compliance requirements, facilitate security auditing, protect their customers, and avoid data breaches by protecting data across devices, processes, and platforms on premises and in the cloud.

Access Management & Authentication

Thales’ access management and authentication solutions provide both the security mechanisms and reporting capabilities needed by pharmacies to comply with data security regulations including HITECH and HIPAA compliance. Our solutions protect sensitive data by enforcing the appropriate access controls, when users log into applications that store sensitive data. By supporting a broad range of authentication methods and policy driven role-based access, our solutions help organizations mitigate the risk of data breach due to compromised or stolen credentials or through insider credential abuse. Support for smart single sign on and step up authentication allows organizations to optimize convenience for end users, ensuring they only have to authenticate when needed. And extensive reporting allows pharmacies to produce a detailed audit trail of all access and authentication events, ensuring they can prove compliancy with a broad range of regulations.

Learn more about Thales’ Access Management & Authentication solutions.

Data Protection

Thales delivers the industry's most comprehensive and advanced data security for pharmacies no matter where the data is. Thales Data Protection solutions discover, classify, and protect the data through obfuscation technologies, such as encryption and tokenization, so that even if the data is stolen, it is unreadable and useless to those who steal it. Thales Data Protection solutions include:

Learn more about Thales' Data Protection solutions.

Meet Cybersecurity Standards

With Thales data access and security solutions pharmacies can achieve data security and protect information from data breaches across the enterprise, in the cloud, and in big data environments. This enables these organizations to comply with worldwide standards and regulations for data security.

Thales data security solutions:

  • Meet compliance and best practice requirements for protecting data with proven, high-performance, and scalable data protection solutions
  • Are quick and easy to install and use
  • Lower operational costs and capital expenditures while optimizing staff efficiency and productivity by leveraging the breadth and depth of integrated Thales data security products and services

Related Resources

Achieving PCI DSS Compliance with Thales Data Protection - White Paper

Achieving PCI DSS Compliance with Thales Data Protection - White Paper

Consumers’ payment data continues to be a compelling target for criminals, and IT security defenses enacted to guard these assets continue to be circumvented. Virtually every major financial institution, retailer, and scores of payment processors have been the victims of...

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

The Key Pillars for Protecting Sensitive Data in Any Organization - White Paper

Traditionally organizations have focused IT security primarily on perimeter defense, building walls to block external threats from entering the network. However, with today’s proliferation of data, evolving global and regional privacy regulations, growth of cloud adoption, and...

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

Data Security Compliance and Regulations - eBook

Organizations are struggling to comply with multiple global and regional security and privacy regulations, such as GDPR, PCI-DSS, HIPAA. These compliance regulations are constantly evolving to address the advanced security threats and increasing number of data breaches. This...