Thales banner

Licence logicielle perpétuelle

Lors du lancement commercial de votre logiciel, vous recherchez très certainement le meilleur modèle de licence logicielle pour votre entreprise. Pour générer des revenus et satisfaire vos clients, la première étape consiste à choisir la solution et le modèle de gestion de licences logicielles adéquats.

Il existe actuellement de nombreux modèles de licences sur le marché. L’un des modèles les plus traditionnels et les plus courants est la licence perpétuelle. La plupart des gens connaissent ce modèle, en raison de sa popularité parmi les applications B2C. Le modèle de licence perpétuelle est l’un des modèles les plus traditionnels avec lequel de nombreuses entreprises sont familières.

Qu’est-ce qu’une licence logicielle perpétuelle ?

Le modèle de licence logicielle perpétuelle est l’un des plus simples sur le marché. Il est similaire à la majorité des achats que les clients effectuent en magasin. Par exemple, imaginons que vous ayez besoin d’une machine à laver. Vous vous rendez au magasin, trouvez le modèle que vous souhaitez, procédez à l’achat, et la machine vous appartient. C’est un paiement unique qui s’accompagne d’une garantie et d’un service. Une fois la garantie expirée, vous pouvez dans la plupart des cas la prolonger avec l’offre de service. Évidemment, la machine à laver est installée chez vous et vous pouvez l’utiliser comme vous le souhaitez.

Dans le modèle de licence perpétuelle, les clients effectuent un paiement unique pour le logiciel. Ils achètent le logiciel plutôt que de le louer. Les clients ont le choix de payer une somme annuelle (généralement 20 % du coût d’origine) pour l’entretien, l’assistance et les mises à jour. Le client héberge généralement le logiciel sur ses propres serveurs.

Avantages et inconvénients des licences perpétuelles

Les modèles de licence perpétuelle offrent quelques avantages. En voici quelques-uns :

  • Utilisation sur le long terme : avec ce type de licence, les clients peuvent généralement utiliser le logiciel pour toujours. Ce système est avantageux pour les entreprises ou les individus qui savent qu’ils vont avoir besoin du logiciel sur le long terme.
  • Coûts transparents : lorsque les clients achètent un logiciel, ils savent exactement combien ils vont payer. S’ils le souhaitent, ils peuvent également acheter annuellement du support et maintenance.
  • Propriété du logiciel : le client détient le logiciel après l’avoir acheté et l’héberge sur ses propres serveurs, dans la plupart des cas.
  • Avantages financiers : si le logiciel est utilisé sur le long terme, ce modèle s’avère souvent très avantageux et rentable.

Inconvénients du modèle de licence perpétuelle :

  • Coûts de support et de maintenance annuels : en plus du coût initial du logiciel (qui est souvent élevé), les clients achètent souvent des forfaits annuels de support et de maintenance afin de bénéficier des mises à jour et de l’assistance si nécessaire.

 

Quelle est la différence entre les licences perpétuelles et les licences à l'abonnement ?

En ce qui concerne les solutions de licence logicielle, la question de licence perpétuelle ou abonnement revient souvent. Le modèle de licence à l’abonnement a gagné en popularité ces dernières années. Lorsque vous cherchez le meilleur modèle de licence logicielle pour votre entreprise, il est important d’envisager les deux options et de comprendre leurs différences.

Paiement
Comme mentionné précédemment, avec le modèle de licence perpétuelle, l’achat est effectué à l’aide d’un paiement unique avec la possibilité de payer des frais de support et de maintenance annuels. Avec le modèle de licence à l’abonnement, les paiements sont récurrents (mensuels ou annuels, généralement). Dans ce modèle, les clients louent le logiciel. Les coûts sont généralement inférieurs au départ mais peuvent s’avérer significatifs en fonction de la longueur de la période d’utilisation.

Implémentation
Dans le modèle de licence perpétuelle, les clients hébergent souvent le logiciel sur leurs serveurs. Ceci peut demander un niveau élevé de personnalisation ou d’intégration pour répondre aux besoins du client. Dans le modèle de licence à l’abonnement, le logiciel reste sur le serveur de l’entreprise hôte et offre moins de personnalisation.

Mises à jour et support
Dans ce modèle, l’achat initial comprend les mises à jour et le support pendant une certaine période. Une fois cette période écoulée, les clients peuvent payer pour continuer à bénéficier des mises à jour et du support. Dans le modèle d’abonnement, les mises à jour et le support sont inclus dans les frais d’abonnement.

Sécurité
La différence principale entre les deux modèles est que les clients de ce type de modèle hébergent le logiciel sur leurs serveurs tandis que, pour le modèle de licence à l'abonnement, le logiciel est hébergé sur le serveur de l’entreprise du fournisseur. Dans le modèle de licence perpétuelle, les clients ont un contrôle supérieur sur leur sécurité, et ainsi une compréhension accrue de la situation.

La transition des modèles commerciaux ponctuels de grande envergure aux modèles de revenus basés sur des achats récurrents peut avoir un impact significatif pour votre entreprise. Pour en savoir plus sur comment optimiser les revenus récurrents pour votre entreprise, téléchargez notre dernier livre blanc.

consolidating software licensing technologies

Consolidate Software Licensing Technologies to Reduce Costs - White Paper

Consolidating Software Licensing Technologies Post M & A Given the tough competition software vendors and intelligent device manufacturers face, it’s no surprise that these organizations depend on creating innovative products and services to grow their businesses.  This...

Cadac Group Reduces Expenses & Gains Flexibility - Case Study

Combine Separate Licensing Platforms - Cadac Case Study

Cadac Group Reduces Expenses & Gains Flexibility - Case Study Cadac Group is a leading provider of solutions to create, manage, and share digital design information. As the design is becoming more digital, Cadac Group offers its customers expertise to enable them to be...

Banner Default Image

Perpetual License

As you release your software into the world, you are most certainly interested in the best software license model for your company. Choosing the proper software license management platform and model is the first step to generating revenue and satisfying your customers.

There are many software licensing models on the market today. One of the most traditional and common models is the perpetual software license. Most people are familiar with this model due to its popularity among B2C applications. The perpetual license model is one of the most traditional models that many companies feel comfortable with.

What is a Perpetual Software License?

The perpetual software license model is one of the simplest on the market. It’s similar to most purchases that customers make in a store. For example, let’s say you need a new washing machine. You go to the store, find the model you want, make the purchase, and it’s yours. It’s a one-time payment that comes with a warranty and service. After the warranty is over, you can extend the warranty and the service package in most cases. Of course, the washing machine is stored in your home and you can use it as you please.

In the perpetual license model, customers pay a one-time fee for the software. They are essentially purchasing the software as opposed to renting it. Customers have the option of paying an annual fee (typically 20% of the original cost) in order to receive maintenance, support, and updates. The customer will typically host the software on its own servers.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Perpetual Licenses

There are multiple advantages of perpetual license models. Here are a few:

  • Long term use: With a perpetual license, customers can typically use the software forever. This is attractive for companies or individuals who know they will need the software in the long-term.
  • Clear costs: When a customer purchases software with a perpetual software license, they know exactly how much they will pay. They also have the option if they wish to purchase yearly maintenance plans.
  • Software ownership: The customer owns the software after purchasing and hosts it on its own servers in most cases.
  • Financial benefits: If the software is used for a long period of time, the perpetual model is often very attractive and cost-effective.

Disadvantages of the perpetual software license model:

  • Yearly maintenance and support costs: On top of the initial cost of the software (which in many cases may be high), customers often purchase yearly maintenance and support packages in order to receive updates and support when necessary.

 

What is the Difference Between Perpetual and Subscription Licenses?

When discussing software licensing solutions, the questions of perpetual vs. subscription software licenses often comes up. The subscription license model has become more and more popular in recent years. When looking for the best software licensing model for your company, it’s important to consider both options and understand their differences.

Payment
As discussed, in the perpetual model, payment is a one-time purchase with the option of a yearly maintenance fee (perpetual pricing). In the subscription model, payments are recurring (typically monthly or yearly). In this model, customers are essentially renting the software. Initial costs tend to be lower but can become prohibitive depending on the length of use.

Implementation
In the perpetual license model, customers often host the software on their servers. This may require a high level of customization or integration to meet customer’s needs. In the subscription model, the software remains on the host company's server and offers less customization.

Upgrades and Support
In the perpetual model, the initial purchase will include updates and support for a certain period of time. Customers can pay for continued updates and support once the initial period has ended. In the subscription model, updates and support are part of the subscription fee.

Security
The main difference between the two models is that with the perpetual model customers host the software on their own servers as opposed to the subscription model in which the software is hosted on the vendor company’s server. In the perpetual license model, customers will have more control over security themselves and therefore more insight into the situation.

Making the transition from large one-time sales models to relationship-based recurring revenue models can be a game-changer. To find out more about how you can maximize recurring revenue for your business, download our latest whitepaper.

consolidating software licensing technologies

Consolidate Software Licensing Technologies to Reduce Costs - White Paper

Consolidating Software Licensing Technologies Post M & A Given the tough competition software vendors and intelligent device manufacturers face, it’s no surprise that these organizations depend on creating innovative products and services to grow their businesses.  This...

Cadac Group Reduces Expenses & Gains Flexibility - Case Study

Cadac Group Reduces Expenses & Gains Flexibility - Case Study

Cadac Group is a leading provider of solutions to create, manage, and share digital design information. As design is becoming more digital, Cadac Group offers its customers expertise to enable them to be better prepared for the future. Cadac Group wanted a single licensing...